MALABON CITY, Philippines – Environmental Management Bureau – National Capital Region led by Regional Director Atty. Michael Drake P. Matias, with EMB-NCR Officials, joined the Turnover of Automatic Trash Rake (ATR) Facility to the City of Malabon on Friday, May 27, 2022, at Malabon City Hall.

The turnover ceremony was facilitated by the Department of Science and Technology – Metals Industry Research and Development Center (DOST- MIRDC). It was graced by Secretary Fortunato T. Dela Peña, Secretary of the Department of Science and Technology, Secretary Jim O. Sampulna, Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, and Atty. Voltaire Dela Cruz, City Administrator of Malabon (representing the Honorable Antolin A. Oreta III, Mayor City of Malabon).

Atty. Matias also conveyed his message to the ceremony by thanking the DOST-MIRDC for implementing the ATR project. He also added that the turnover ceremony commences a continuous partnership among the concerned agencies and LGU Malabon so that ATR Project becomes fully and sustainably functional even during the new administration.

The project is in line with Task Force-Build Back Better’s implementation activities and addresses the flooding problems in Malabon-Navotas-Tullahan-Tinajeros (MaNaTuTi) River System. It aims to remove debris, dried leaves, and other solid wastes in the said waterbodies.

Upper right: Atty. Matias conveying his message to the officials.
Lower right: Dr. Fudolig giving his opening remarks.
Lower left: Engr. Tamayo presenting the Project demonstration video of ATR.
Upper photo:DENR Sec Sampulna, Atty. Dela Cruz, and Sec. Dela peña addressing the questions from local medias.
Lower photo:The officials from the collaborating agencies for the ATR project (from left to right): Dr. Al O. Orolfo (Asst. Regional Director for Management Services, DENR), Atty. Michael Drake P. Matias (Regional Director, DENR-EMB) , Sec. Jim O. Sampulna (DENR Secretary), Atty. Voltaire Dela Cruz (City Administrator of Malabon), Dr. Agustin M. Fudolig (Deputy Executive Director for R&D), Mark Mesina (Chief, Malabon CENRO), Sec. Fortunato T. Dela Peña (DOST, Secretary), Engr. Rodnel O. Tamayo (Chief, Prototyping Division), Dir. Jose B. Patalinjug III (Regional Director, DOST-NCR)